Skip to content

Cover

TikTok Settings ​

⚠️ Think before you post

Take a moment to consider the potential consequences of your online activities. Whether it's a comment, photo, or personal information, being mindful can help protect your privacy and digital footprint. For more information, see Guides -> Social Media.

Navigate to your profile, tap the hamburger menu (☰) in the top right corner and select Settings and privacy.

Account ​

Account ​

Account Information ​

  • Change your email to a spoofed one
  • Remove your phone number

Privacy ​

Discoverability ​

  • Private account: On (If possible for you)
  • Activity status: Off
  • Suggest your account to others
    • Contacts: Off
    • Facebook friends: Off
    • People who open or send links to you: Off
  • Sync contacts and Facebook friends
    • Sync contacts: Off
    • Sync Facebook friends: Off
  • Location Services
    • Permission settings
      • Turn on: Never
    • Location history
      • Delete certain location data -> Delete

Interactions ​

  • Comments
    • Allow comments from: No one/Friends
  • Mentions
    • Allow mentions from: No one/Friends
  • Direct messages
    • Allow direct messages from: No one/Friends
    • Filtered requests: On
    • Read status: Off
    • Safe mode: On
  • Downloads
    • Video downloads: Off
  • Following list
    • Who can see your following list?
      • Turn on: Only you
  • Liked videos
    • Who can watch your liked videos
      • Turn on: Only you
  • Favorite sounds
    • Make public: Off
  • Post views
    • Post view history: Off
  • Profile views
    • Profile view history: Off

Security & permissions ​

Security ​

  • Security alerts
    • Check security alerts regularly to keep your account safe
  • Manage devices
    • Remove old devices
  • 2-step verification:

Permissions ​

  • Apps and services permissions
    • Uninstall, remove and unlink everything
  • Browser settings
    • Autofill payment information: Off
    • Autofill contact information: Off

Content & Display ​

Notifications ​

  • In-app notifications:
    • Activity status: Off
    • Customized updates and more: Off
  • Push notification schedule
    • Set a schedule: Off

Messages ​

  • Activity status: Off
  • Direct messages
    • Turn on push notifications from
      • Turn on: None/Friends
  • Direct messages preview: Off

Personalized post suggestions ​

  • Posts from people you may know: Off
  • Posts you might like: Off

Screen time ​

  • Weekly screen time updates: Off

Other ​

  • People you may know: Off
  • Customized updates and more: Off
  • Email notifications
    • All email notifications: Off

Activity center ​

See all screen time data ​

  • Daily screen time: Off
  • Screen time breaks: Off
  • Sleep reminders: Off

Watch history ​

  • Delete your entire watch history

Comment history ​

  • Delete your entire comment history

Search history ​

  • Delete your entire search history

Content preferences ​

Filter video keywords ​

  • Remove all keywords

Restricted Mode ​

  • Turn off

STEM feed ​

  • Turn off

Refresh your For You feed ​

  • Continue -> Refresh
    • Why did you refresh your For You feed: Don't answer

Personalised feeds ​

  • Turn off
  • Turn off

Ads ​

Manage data used for ad personalisation ​

  • Personalised ads: Off

Clear activity ​

  • Tap Confirm

Language ​

  • If you just want to scroll through TikTok and don't care about the interface, change the language of the app to a different one that you feel comfortable with